County officials prepare for Tuesday, Saturday is final day to vote absentee

Published 7:00 am Thursday, May 29, 2014

Preparations are being made for Tuesday’s primary election.

To ensure voting machines that will be used in the coming election are working properly Pearl River County Circuit Court and Pearl River County Election Commissioner officials will conduct logic and accuracy testing at the Poplarville National Guard Armory on Thursday from 9 to 10 a.m.

This testing will ensure the machines are problem free and reporting proper results, said Circuit Court Clerk Vickie Hariel.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Officials look to see if the machines display the correct date, the memory card is functioning properly and that it’s recording votes accurately.

Once the test is complete, the results are displayed and uploaded, Hariel said.

The test also looks for simple glitches, such as if the battery is holding a charge should the power go out during election day.

Anyone who is interested can witness the testing, Hariel said.

“If the machine is found to be faulty in any way it is not used,” Hariel said.

Voters should also keep in mind that Saturday is the last day to cast an absentee ballot. Hariel said absentee ballots can be cast until noon on Saturday by visiting either the Picayune or Poplarville Circuit Court offices. The Poplarville office is located in the County Courthouse on Main Street, while the Picayune office is located in Chimney Square on Goodyear Boulevard.

Hariel would like to remind voters that this election will be the first time a photo I.D. will be required to cast a ballot.

Any government issued form of identification will suffice.

Tuesday’s ballot will contain candidates running for United States Senate and the Fourth Congressional District House of Representatives.

Candidates for Senate are Thomas L. Carey (R), Thad Cochran (R), Chris McDaniel (R), Travis W. Childers (D), William Bond Compton Jr. (D), Bill Marcy (D) and Jonathan Rawl (D).

House of Representatives candidates are Tom Carter (R), Tavish C. Kelly (R), Steven McCarty Palazzo (R), Gene Taylor (R), Ron Vincent (R), Trish Causey (D) and Matt Moore (D).