Hyde-Smith, Chad Smith unofficially win Pearl River County

Published 7:00 am Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Turnout was steady during Tuesday’s runoff election to determine who would fill the seat for U.S. Senate vacated by Thad Cochran.

Earlier this year, Cindy Hyde-Smith was appointed to that position by Gov. Phil Bryant. Tuesday’s election determined who will finish out the final two years of Cochran’s remaining term.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

These are results from 25 of 25 precincts reporting in Pearl River County. For the special election to fill a seat on the United States Senate Mike Espy received 2,805 and Cindy Hyde-Smith received 10,284 votes within Pearl River County.

Statewide results Tuesday night reported by the Associated Press show that Hyde-Smith beat Espy during Tuesday’s runoff.

Unofficial results posted by the Associated Press state that Hyde-Smith received 478,759 votes to Espy’s 408,001 votes.

In the race for Tenth Chancery Court Judge, place 4, Vanessa Jones received 3,725 , and Chad Smith received 7,978 votes within Pearl River County.

According to information from the Pearl River County Circuit Court Clerk’s office, turnout was about 38.81 percent during Tuesday’s runoff.

Of the county’s 32,812 registered voters, 12,734 turned out to cast their ballot.

These results do not include absentee or affidavit ballots.