Election will be held Tuesday, absentee ballots accepted until Saturday

Published 7:00 am Friday, November 2, 2018

County residents planning on voting via absentee in the upcoming election have until Saturday at noon to do so if they want to submit their ballot in person to the Circuit Clerk’s office.

Pearl River County Circuit Clerk Nance Stokes said the deadline for absentee ballots to be submitted to her office is Saturday at noon. Mailed ballots should be received in her office no later than 5 p.m. on Monday.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Members of the military or voters who live overseas have until the night of the election to have their ballots turned in to her office.

As of Thursday, about 1,000 absentee ballots had been submitted to her office, Stokes said.

Stokes said that the TSX voting machines will be used during Tuesday’s election, and reminds Pearl River County residents that the voting precincts have changed. Polling places can be found on a voter’s registration card, or that information can be found by calling her office at 601-403-2328.

Candidates and offices in this election that are contested are listed below. Candidates are listed in the order as they appear on the ballot.

For United States Senate, candidates include David Baria (D), Roger Wicker (R), Danny Bedwell (Lib) and Shawn O’Hara (Ref).

For the special election to fill a seat on the United States Senate, candidates include Tobey Bernard Bartee, Mike Espy, Cindy Hyde-Smith and Chris McDaniel. Party affiliations for this race are not listed on the ballot.

For the U.S. House of Representatives Fourth Congressional District, candidates include Jeremy Anderson (D), Steven Palazzo (R) and Lajena Sheets (Ref).

For the Tenth Chancery Court, place 3, candidates include Bob Marshall and Sheila Havard Smallwood.

Candidates running for Tenth Chancery Court, place 4 include Stacey Sims Barber, Christopher Howdeshell, Vanessa Jones, Harry R. Lane, Chad Smith and Joseph L. Turney.

Two candidates are running in the special election for Pearl River County School Board of Trustees District 1, Christian Burge and Rodney J. Dyess.

There are also two candidates running for the Pearl River County School Board of Trustees District 2, Jerry Frazier and Jeremy Weir.

A sample ballot is included on this page.