Council, mayor in Picayune to serve another term

Published 7:00 am Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Only one office within the city of Picayune was contested this election year, that of Precinct III currently held by Jan Miller Stevens (R).
According to unofficial election results within the city of Picayune, Stevens’ opponent, David Fred Smith (D), received one vote during Tuesday’s general election. Stevens received 53.
City Clerk Amber Hinton said only one affidavit vote needs to be verified, and that vote is from Precinct II.
Poll workers at Precinct III, located at the National Guard Armory, reported only 47 people casting a vote by 5:30 that evening.
All other councilors, which include Wayne Gouguet, Tammy Valente, Lynn Bogan Bumpers and Larry Breland, ran unopposed, and as such will assume their current roles. The same is the case with Mayor Ed Pinero.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox