Moving Pearl River County forward together

Published 7:00 am Saturday, December 19, 2015

Pearl River County’s two municipalities, Picayune and Poplarville, have resource foundations necessary to support prosperous cities that offer the best quality of life in the state of Mississippi.

In Pearl River County, we have a thriving higher education facility, Pearl River Community College, family-owned businesses and just next door NASA’s John C. Stennis Space Center.

By creating an economic plan, the county can begin to improve the resources we have in order to make our cities even more attractive places for people to live.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Next week, the county’s supervisors will be sworn in. During the past election, two incumbents—District IV Supervisor J. Patrick Lee and District III Supervisor Dennis Dedeaux— were unseated. District I Supervisor Anthony Hales announced his retirement prior to the election.

The supervisors elected to replace those seats are District I Supervisor Donald Hart, District IV Supervisor Farron Moeller and District III Supervisor Hudson Holliday.

The supervisors will join incumbents, District II Supervisor Malcolm Perry and

District V Supervisor Sandy Kane Smith.

The supervisors have said that it’s important to outline an economic development plan in order to grow as a county. They’ve mentioned that the county is centrally located to New Orleans and the Mississippi Gulf Coast and that the possibilities are endless when it comes to creating a brighter future.

While it takes time to build a prosperous city, all of the raw materials are in place here. If we all roll up our sleeves and work together, we can strive to ensure the county is strong for generations to come.

We have hope that the supervisors will use their time in office to continue moving this county forward by creating and implementing a development plan.