Election results for Pearl River County

Published 8:21 am Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Unofficial results for the general election held Tuesday shows that several candidates will hold their current office, while some new candidates will take office.
In the race for U.S. Senate Thad Cochran (7,589) took Pearl River County, followed by Travis Childers (1,973) and Shawn O’Hara (688).
In the race for the Fourth Congressional District House of Representatives Steven Palazzo (8,195) led the county, followed by Matt Moore (1,646), Cindy Burleson (254), Joey Robinson (240), Eli Jackson (75) and finally Ed Reich (62).
For the seat of District 15 Circuit Court Judge Place 1 James “Jim” Gray (5,693) lead Anthony Mozingo (3,474) within the county. That seat is elected by several counties.
In the race for Supervisor District II, Malcolm Perry (751) led the pack, with James Ernie Clark (603), H.R. “Ray” Mitchell Jr. (352), Daryl Smith (349), Matt Mitchell (246), “Josey” Russell Tynes (167), Bradley Holston (118), Frank Vaccarella (67) and E. Earl Lawrence (39).
Circuit Clerk Vickie Harriel said a runoff between Perry and Clark will be held Nov. 25 to determine who will fill that seat.
In the resolution declaring hunting and fishing in the state as a right, 9,470 Pearl River County voters chose yes, while 849 chose no.
All other races were uncontested, meaning the sole candidate will maintain that office.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox