Tate Reeves Announces Key Appointments in Mississippi Government

Published 10:27 am Thursday, March 28, 2024

Governor Tate Reeves announced multiple appointments to key positions within state government on March 26th, highlighting a focus on expertise and experience to serve the people of Mississippi.

“I was proud to appoint these individuals to key positions within state government,” said Governor Tate Reeves. Each has the skills and experience to positively impact the lives of Mississippians. I do not doubt that they’ll do a great job, and I thank them for stepping up to serve our state and her people.”

Dr. William J. “Bill” Ashley, a seasoned professional in the field, has been appointed as the executive director of the Mississippi Department of Employment Security. With a rich background in business research and workforce development, Dr. Ashley has previously served as the president of Shelton State Community College in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. His academic credentials include a Ph.D. in community college leadership from Mississippi State University and a Master of Business Administration and Bachelor of Business from Delta State University.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Rhoshunda Kelly was reappointed as the Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance commissioner. Kelly has over 20 years of regulatory experience and previously served in various roles at the Department, including deputy commissioner and director of bank supervision. She holds a master’s degree in banking from Louisiana State University Graduate School of Banking and a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Mississippi State University.

Billye Jean Stroud was appointed to the Mississippi State Board of Education, representing the 3rd Supreme Court District. She brings 25 years of experience in higher education and community development initiatives. She currently serves as director of Community Development and Main Street for the City of New Albany. Stroud holds a master’s degree in higher education from Mississippi College and a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from the University of Mississippi.

J. Matthew “Matt” Mayo and Donald Clark, Jr. were appointed to the Mississippi State Board of Education, representing the First Supreme Court District. Mayo, Chief Banking Officer for Community Bank of Mississippi, has extensive experience in banking and community involvement. Clark, of counsel to Butler Snow, LLP, brings a distinguished legal career, having previously served as chairman of the firm.

Jerry Griffith, James “Jimmy” Heidelberg, and Charles “Charlie” Stephenson were appointed to the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Board of Trustees, representing various districts. Each nominee brings a unique blend of expertise, from government service to legal and business acumen.

“I’d like to thank the outgoing IHL board members for their years of distinguished public service and many contributions to our state,” said Governor Tate Reeves. “I wish them all the best in their future endeavors.”

All eight nominees will be submitted to the Mississippi Senate for confirmation.