Pearl River County Democrats Hold County Convention

Published 12:49 pm Monday, March 25, 2024

The Pearl River County Democratic Party convened for its County Convention on Saturday, March 23, at the Board of Supervisors Building in Poplarville.

Held every four years during a presidential election year, the convention serves multiple purposes, including selecting delegates for district, state, and national Democratic Party conventions, electing new members and officers of the executive committee, and discussing the party platform to provide input on priorities to state party officers.

Sarah Herring, the current secretary of the county party’s executive committee, led the meeting, overseeing the proceedings.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Thirteen new members were elected to the executive committee during the convention. Additionally, six county delegates were chosen to represent Pearl River County at the upcoming Democratic Party conventions. The delegates selected are Deanna Bernard and Griselda Taylor of Picayune, Martrenia Hawkins, Jim Chester, and Edward Hawkins of Carriere, and Dr. Glenn Butt of Picayune.

The next gathering of Pearl River County Democrats is scheduled for April 1 at 6 P.M. via Zoom. Those interested in attending are encouraged to leave a message on the group’s Facebook page (Pearl River County Democratic Party).