Stansbury and Hayes Set to Represent State at SEC Leadership Council

Published 1:58 pm Thursday, September 15, 2022

STARKVILLE – The SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council will hold its annual meeting Sept. 16-17 in Birmingham, Ala., with Isaac Stansbury and Aislynn Hayes representing Mississippi State.

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey introduced new Student-Athlete Leadership Councils in 2016 for the sports of men’s and women’s basketball along with football, which, in addition to the conference’s longstanding Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC), provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff.

The council consists of one male representative and one female representative from each of the SEC’s 14 institutions. The goal of the Leadership Council is for student-athletes to serve as a conduit of communication from their teams to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience, student-athlete wellness, and to provide feedback on proposed rules governing the SEC and NCAA.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Hayes, who will represent Mississippi State women’s basketball, will be unable to play this season due to injury she announced on Sept. 9. During her junior campaign, Hayes played in all 29 contests for the Maroon and White, averaging 4.2 points and 2.3 rebounds per contest. She ranked third on the team in 3-point field percentage and finished third in made threes with 30. Her strong outside game played a crucial role in State’s win over Texas A&M, when she hit a season-high four triples.

Stansbury, who is entering his senior season at Mississippi State, is the son of former MSU head coach and the program’s all-time wins leader, Rick Stansbury. He is a three-time SEC Academic Honor Roll recipient and has appeared in eight career games.

Men’s Basketball
Adam Cottrell, Alabama
Cade Arbogast, Arkansas
Babatunde Akingbola, Auburn
Kowacie Reeves, Florida
Jabri Abdur-Rahim, Georgia
Brennan Canada, Kentucky
Justice Hill, LSU
Matthew Murrell, Ole Miss
Isaac Stansbury, Mississippi State
Kobe Brown, Missouri
Chico Carter Jr., South Carolina
Jahmai Mashack, Tennessee
Henry Coleman III, Texas A&M
Quentin Millora-Brown, Vanderbilt

Women’s Basketball
Megan Abrams, Alabama
Rylee Langerman, Arkansas
Honesty Scott-Grayson, Auburn
Zippy Broughton, Florida
Diamond Battles, Georgia
Nyah Leveretter, Kentucky
Emily Ward, LSU
Madison Scott, Ole Miss
Aislynn Hayes, Mississippi State
Haley Troup, Missouri
Laeticia Amihere, South Carolina*
Tamari Key, Tennessee
Jada Malone, Texas A&M
Yaubryon Chambers, Vanderbilt

*Olivia Thompson will attend the meeting in place of Laeticia Amihere.

Season tickets for the 2022-23 season are on sale now and start as low as $85 for the women and $155 for the men. Fans can purchase season tickets at or by calling the Mississippi State Ticket Office at (662) 325-2600 or (888) Go Dawgs (888-463-2947).

For more information on the Bulldogs, follow MSU women’s basketball on Twitter, like them on Facebook and join them on Instagram by searching for “HailStateWBK.” For men’s basketball, fans can follow the team on its social media outlets by searching ‘HailStateMBK’ on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.