Chiara Tamburlini Named to ANNIKA Award Preseason Watch List

Published 3:11 pm Thursday, September 1, 2022

OXFORD, Miss. – Ole Miss senior women’s golfer Chiara Tamburlini earned a place on the 2022-23 ANNIKA Award Preseason Watch List, Golfweek and Golf Channel announced on Thursday.

This marks the third consecutive year in which a Rebel has been named to the prestigious award’s preseason watch list, with Tamburlini earning her spot on the list for the first time of her career. Recent Ole Miss grad Julia Johnson claimed spots on the previous two years’ installments (2020, 2021).

The ANNIKA Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding women’s college golfer, as voted on by players, coaches and media.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Tamburlini is coming off a dominant 2021-22 campaign for the Rebels, earning first-team WGCA All-American and first-team All-SEC honors on the year after posting a 72.60 stroke average on the year, ranking sixth all-time in program history. Tamburlini also earned top 20 finishes in all 11 of her tournament appearances on the season, including an eighth place finish at the 2022 NCAA Championships. It ranked as the second-highest finish for a Rebel at NCAAs in team history.

The St. Gallen, Switzerland, native capped off her accomplishments on the year by being named the 2022 Edith Cummings Munson Golf Award winner by the WGCA, which is awarded annually to the NCAA Division I women’s golfer that is both a WGCA All-American and WGCA All-American Scholar with the highest GPA in the country. Tamburlini marks the first Rebel to ever receive the honor in the award’s 34-year history dating back to its inception in 1989.

Tamburlini and Ole Miss will return to action to begin their 2022 fall season Sept. 12 when the Rebels travel to Charleston, South Carolina, for the Cougar Classic.

For all Ole Miss women’s golf latest news and information, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissWGolf, on Instagram at OleMissWGolf and on Facebook at Ole Miss Women’s Golf. General athletic news can also be found at @OleMissSports on Twitter, Ole Miss Sports on Facebook, and OleMissAthletics on Instagram.

ANNIKA Award Preseason Watch List
Amari Avery, USC
Carolina Chacarra, Wake Forest
Hannah Darling, South Carolina
Blanca Fernandez Garcia-Poggio, Texas A&M
Megha Ganne, Stanford
Charlotte Heath, Florida State
Rachel Heck, Stanford
Maddison Hinson-Tolchard, Oklahoma State
Rachel Kuehn, Wake Forest
Ingrid Lindblad, LSU
Cynthia Lu, Oregon
Caley McGinty, Ohio State
Carolina Melgrati, Arizona
Emilia Migliaccio, Wake Forest
Benedetta Moresco, Alabama
Anna Morgan, Furman
Alessia Nobilio, UCLA
Bohyun Park, Texas
Amanda Sambach, Virginia
Meghan Schofill, Auburn
Brooke Seay, Stanford
Erica Shepherd, Duke
Chiara Tamburlini, Ole Miss
Amelia Williamson, Florida State
Rose Zhang, Stanford