Unofficial results from Tuesday’s Board of Aldermen in Poplarville

Published 8:36 pm Tuesday, April 6, 2021

The following are unofficial results from Poplarville’s Republican and Democratic primary elections.

The races were for mayor and alderman. There are five seats on the Board of Aldermen and Poplarville’s aldermen run at large.

Republican Primary

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

There are three Republican candidates for Poplarville mayor.

Linda Eades Hawkins received 79, Heather Holliday received 103 and Louise Smith received 128 votes. If a candidate does not receive at least 51 percent of the vote, there will be a runoff election.

There were five Republican candidates for alderman. Russell Miller withdrew his candidacy shortly before the polls closed Tuesday, leaving four Republican candidates to run in the general election.

Daniel Brown received 234, Russell Miller received 234, Bobby Nestle received 218, Anne Smith received 213 and Byron Wells received 242 votes.

Democratic Primary

There was one candidate in the Democratic primary. Kevin Tillman received 21 votes for Poplarville’s Board of Aldermen.

Election Dates

The runoff primary election will be April 27. The general election will be June 8.