Candidates for city of Picayune’s mayoral and council election, 2021

Published 9:09 am Tuesday, February 9, 2021

This story has been updated to reflect that Lynn Bogan Bumpers registered as an Independent candidate.

The following candidates have qualified for the upcoming election within the city of Picayune.

Candidates are listed in alphabetic order by last name.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Candidates running for mayor include: Jim Luke (R), Leaverne Guy (D) and Tammy Valente (R)

Council Precinct 1: Antha Mitchell (R) and Anna Turnage (R).

Council Precinct 2: Lynn Bumpers (I), Terrilyn Griffith (D) and Dimitri Johnson (D).

Council Precinct 3: David Smith (D) and Jan Stevens (R).

Council Precinct 4: Larry Breland (D) and Vernon Robinson (D).

Council Precinct 5: Larry Cagle (R), Frank Ford (R) and Robert May (R).

Primary Election Day will be April 6. If needed, a runoff will be held April 27.

The general election will be June 8, and winners will begin their terms in municipal office July 1.

To cast a ballot in the primary, voters must be registered by March 8. To cast a ballot in the general election, voters must be registered by May 10. Voters can check the status of their voter registration at or by calling the Circuit Clerk’s office.