Elected county officials sworn in

Published 7:00 am Saturday, January 4, 2020

All recently elected or reelected county officials were sworn in Friday at the Pearl River County Courthouse in Poplarville.

Whether they were elected for the first time or reelected to serve another term, officials swore to uphold the Constitution of the state of Mississippi and the U.S. Constitution.

The courtroom was packed with county officials and their families during the ceremony.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Judge Claiborne “Buddy” McDonald read the oaths of office to officials as they laid a hand on the Bible held by a friend or family member. The Circuit Clerk and Chancery Clerk also swore in their deputy clerks.

Some of the oaths vary depending on the requirements of the job, said McDonald. McDonald acknowledged the challenges of roles for various county officials before they took the oath.

The role of coroner requires a lot of empathy and involves emotionally stressful situations, McDonald said, before Coroner Derek Turnage was sworn in.

North District Constable Danny Joe Slade took the oath for the fifth time Friday, as he was reelected to serve his most recent term.

“It reaffirms that I’ve given the people hard work and honesty,” Slade said. “I’m happy to take the oath.”

The ceremony went well, said District V Supervisor Sandy Kane Smith, who added that he is excited about the public officials who were sworn in.

“It’s like a new day,” said District III Supervisor Hudson Holliday. “I’m optimistic about the future of Pearl River County.”