Unofficial results from Republican primary runoff election

Published 9:48 pm Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Tuesday’s Republican primary runoff election results determined which candidates will represent the Republican party in the general election or who will take office next year in the races that are now unopposed.

Results listed below include 26 of 26 precincts within Pearl River County. They are unofficial until all votes are counted, including affidavit and absentee votes.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

With 7,134 ballots cast, voter turnout was at 21.82 percent unofficially.

In the race for Governor, Tate Reeves received 4,576 (64.37 percent) and Bill Waller Jr. received 2,520 (35.45 percent) votes.

In the race for Attorney General, Lynn Fitch received 4,008 (58.07 percent) and Andy Taggart received 2,880 (41.73 percent) votes.

With 18 of 18 precincts reporting in the race for State House of Representatives District 106, Jansen Owen received 2,062 (61.02 percent) and John Glen Corley received 1,315 (38.92 percent) votes. There are no other candidates  running for this office under other parties or as an independent.

With 4 of 4 precincts reporting in the race for District 4 Supervisor, Jason Spence received 696 (52.77 percent) and Farron Moeller received 621 (47.08 percent) votes. If the results remain the same after all votes are counted, Spence will move to the general election unopposed and take office next year.

With 14 of 14 precincts reporting in the race for North District Justice Court Judge, Benjamin Breland received 1,736 (52.29 percent) and Larry Head received 1,579 (47.56 percent) votes.

Circuit Clerk Nance Stokes said the election went well and her office has received positive feedback concerning the new voting machines.

“I think voters are getting used to the machines,” Stokes said.

The general election will be Nov. 5.