Runoff election to elect Democratic candidate for Senate

Published 7:00 am Tuesday, June 19, 2018

A runoff election will be held June 26, to determine which candidate will represent the Democratic party for the Mississippi Senate seat in the November general election.

The runoff election will be between David Baria and Howard Sherman.

According to Baria’s official website, he is currently representing District 122 in the Mississippi House and is the leader of the State House of Representatives Democratic Caucus.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“David Baria has led the fight to fully fund Mississippi’s public schools, make corporations pay their fair share of taxes, develop a comprehensive infrastructure plan and improve access to healthcare,” the website states.

Howard Sherman is not a professional politician, but is a Mississippi businessman, Sherman’s official website states. According to the website, Sherman hopes to be elected so he can improve and grow the education, agriculture and healthcare across Mississippi.

“[Sherman’s] understanding of the private sector and technology will help to generate more jobs by attracting companies and new investments,” the website states.

Only those who voted on the Democrat ballot during the primary election held June 5, or any person who did not vote on June 5, will be eligible to vote in the runoff, Pearl River County Circuit Clerk Nance Stokes said in previous coverage.

According to the official Primary Election Summary Report, in Pearl River County, 3,509 votes were cast – just over 10 percent of the registered voters in the county.

For the Senate’s Democrat race, 483 votes were cast. David Baria received 150 (32.7 percent), Jensen Bohren received 21 votes (4.35 percent), Jerone Garland received 26 votes (5.38 percent), Victor G. Maurice Jr. received 15 votes (3.11 percent), Omeria Scott received 192 votes (39.75 percent), and Howard Sherman received 71 votes (14.7 percent).

Jeramey Anderson was uncontested for the 4th Congressional District Democratic House candidacy.

For the Senate’s Republican race, in Pearl River County 2,969 votes were cast. R. Warren Boyanton received 815 votes (27.45 percent) and Roger F. Wicker received 2,140 votes (72 percent). Fourteen write-in votes were cast.

For the 4th Congressional District Republican House candidacy, incumbent Steven Palazzo received 2,297 votes (76.67 percent) and E. Brian Rose received 690 votes (23 percent).