Poplarville Aldermen election results

Published 7:00 am Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Seven candidates put forth their names for the Poplarville office of Aldermen Tuesday night and Poplarville residents ultimately elected the top five to serve as the next Board of Aldermen under newly elected Mayor Rossie Creel.
Despite the rain, about 500 voters turned out to the polls.
Unofficial results show the top five candidates were—in order of votes received—Kevin L. Tillman, Tony Smith, Anne Smith, and tied for the last two seats were incumbents Maggie Smith and Shirley Wiltshire.
After two of the current Aldermen gave up their seats in favor of running for mayor—Glenn Bolin and Byron Wells—and Alderman Jason Pearson decided not to run for reelection, only two of the five current Board members were on the ballot.
Two other candidates severed as elected officials previously, Anne Smith a former alderwoman and Tony Smith a former state representative.
Below are the candidates who ran for office and the results:
Laura “Heather” Holliday (R) with 229 votes, Rochelle Holliday (R) with 190 votes, Anne Gendusa Smith (R) with 245 votes, incumbent Margaret Ann Smith (D) with 242 votes, Tony Smith (R) with 248 votes, Kevin L. Tillman, Sr. (D) with 278 votes and incumbent Shirley Wiltshire (D) with 242 votes.
No affidavit votes remain to be counted.


6/8/17 Update: Final vote counts released by Poplarville City Hall

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Laura “Heather” Holliday: 225

Rochelle Holliday: 189

Anne Gendusa Smith: 245

Margaret Ann Smith: 239

Tony Smith: 243

Kevin L. Tillman, Sr.: 276

Shirley Wiltshire: 241



About Julia Arenstam

Staff Writer

email author More by Julia