Creel takes unofficial win over Wells, tight race to be called via affidavits

Published 7:00 am Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Unofficial results show that Rossie Creel has been voted the next mayor of Poplarville, but 11 outstanding affidavit votes remain to be counted.
According to unofficial results, Creel won the runoff election with 249 votes, followed by Byron Wells with 242 votes.
Two ballots were rejected because write-ins are not allowed in Mississippi, one of them was cast for “Jesus.” Eleven affidavit votes will be counted at the county courthouse Wednesday.
The small audience gathered in the Board room at City Hall waited while poll workers called each vote aloud. Neither candidate was present but supporters expressed satisfaction as each candidate’s name was called in succession.
According to the final count from the primary election, Creel received 180 votes and Wells received 170 votes, pushing them into the runoff while the third candidate, Glenn Bolin, was eliminated with the least votes at 104, City Clerk Jane O’Neal said during the Board of Aldermen meeting Tuesday night.
The election to fill the five aldermen seats will be held June 6 at City Hall.
The mayoral winner’s name will still appear on the ballot in June as a formality in accordance with state law, O’Neal said.
The new Board and mayor will take office July 1, O’Neal said.
Candidates for Aldermen are: Rochelle Holliday (R), Heather Holliday (R), Anne Gendusa Smith (R), incumbent Margaret Ann Smith (D), Tony Smith (R), Kevin L. Tillman, Sr. (D) and incumbent Shirley Wiltshire (D).

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

About Julia Arenstam

Staff Writer

email author More by Julia