Qualifying candidates for municipal elections in Picayune, Poplarville

Published 7:00 am Tuesday, March 7, 2017

With the qualifying deadline for the Picayune and Poplarville elected municipal offices passed, there a number of new candidates now on the ballot.
In Poplarville, three candidates qualified for the mayoral election, including current Alderman David Glenn Bolin (R), Poplarville School Resource Officer Rossie Creel (R) and current Alderman Byron Lawrence Wells (R).
Qualifying candidates for the Board of Aldermen are Laura “Heather” Holliday (R), Rochelle Holliday (R), Anne Gendusa Smith (R), incumbent Margaret Ann Smith (D), Tony Smith (R), Kevin L. Tillman, Sr. (D) and incumbent Shirley Wiltshire (D).
All positions in Poplarville are at- large and will be filled by the top five candidates, City Clerk Jane O’Neal said.
In Picayune, many of the positions will be uncontested, including current Mayor Ed Pinero (R), who will be seeking another term, according to city clerk documents.
Candidates in Picayune’s precincts 1, 2, 4 and 5 are also running unopposed. Those include incumbents Tammy Valente (R), Lynn Bogan Bumpers (D), Larry E. Breland, Sr. (D), and Wayne Gouget (R), respectively.
In precinct 3, incumbent Janice Miller Stevens (R), is running against David Fred Smith (D).
All names are listed as the candidates requested them to be printed on the ballot.
Primary elections will be held on May 2 with a runoff scheduled for May 16 if needed. Those who vote for one party in the primary are not permitted to vote for another during a runoff, Pearl River County Circuit Clerk Nance Stokes said.
Voter registration will be open at the Pearl River County Circuit Clerk’s office until April 1 for those who wish to vote in the primary. The general election will be held on June 6. Voter registration is open until May 6 for those voting in the general election.
Voters should be aware that city voting precincts can vary from countywide election precincts. For clarification refer to the voter registration card provided by the Pearl River County Circuit Clerk’s office.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

About Julia Arenstam

Staff Writer

email author More by Julia