Unofficial results show Trump leads Clinton in Pearl River County

Published 10:59 pm Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Unofficial election results for the general election held Tuesday show a strong support in the county for Republican nominee Donald J. Trump.

With 30 out of 32 precincts reporting by press time Tuesday night, Trump led the presidential election in Pearl River County with 14,081 votes. He was followed by Hillary Clinton (2,118), Gary Johnson (252) Darrell Castle (67), Jill Stein (63), Rocky De La Fuente (7) and Jim Hedges (6).

In the race for Fourth U.S. Congressional House of Representatives, incumbent Steven Palazzo led the county with 13,083 votes, followed by Mark Gladney (2,077), Richard McCluskey (733) and Shawn O’Hara (270).

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Dawn Beam led the county for the second seat in the Second District of the State Supreme Court with 9,122 votes (67.47 percent), followed by Michael Shareef with 4,366 votes.

All 22 precincts in Pearl River County were tallied for the race for Mississippi House of Representatives District 106, which grew close between certain candidates. John Glen Corley led with 2,164 votes, or 30.86 percent. Following Corley were Larry D. Davis with 1,561 votes and Greg Holcomb pulled in 1,559 votes. Ben Winston received 752 votes and Daniel Wise received 967.

Votes cast in other areas of District 106, including Lamar County, are not included in this total. A runoff election will likely be scheduled.

Incumbent David Ishee ran unopposed for the seat in the District Five Court of Appeals. He received 12,361 votes.

Election Commissioners for Districts one through four ran unopposed. They are Virgie Hart Bolton (1,560), Margaret J. Woodson (3,412), Tommy Breland (3,500), and Reggie W. Hanberry (1,699), respectively.

According to unofficial results, incumbent Michelle Vogt received 1,887 votes for the District Five Election Commissioner seat behind Johnny Stafford’s 1,930 votes.

Jacob “Jake” Smith ran unopposed for a vacant seat on the Picayune School Board. He received 1,905 votes.

Absentee and affidavit ballots will be counted on Wednesday and are not included in the above totals.

About Julia Arenstam

Staff Writer

email author More by Julia