Poplarville Area Chamber of Commerce honors those who serve the community

Published 7:00 am Friday, November 4, 2016

The Poplarville Area Chamber of Commerce presented Carol Williams with the Citizen of the Year Award during Thursday’s annual Awards Luncheon. Photo by Julia Arenstam

The Poplarville Area Chamber of Commerce presented Carol Williams with the Citizen of the Year Award during Thursday’s annual Awards Luncheon.
Photo by Julia Arenstam

The Poplarville Area Chamber of Commerce held their annual awards luncheon Thursday, honoring community members who provide exceptional service.
Each year, the chamber honors the Fireman of the Year, Policeman of the Year, City Worker of the Year, Future Leader of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Citizen of the Year.
Dr. Adam Breerwood, Vice President of the Poplarville and Hancock campuses at Pearl River Community College, was the guest speaker.
Breerwood, who has remained active in Poplarville since attending PRCC, spoke about his ongoing work at the college.
“Everything we do is part of the curriculum,” Breerwood said.
With about 3,000 students at the Poplarville campus, Breerwood said he has noticed the diverse nature of the student body, some of which are especially evident on move-in day.
“Some have everything,” he said, including family members and flat screen TV’s. “While others are moving in with just a backpack and rode in a car with three of their friends.”
Through the continued work of PRCC’s President Dr. William Lewis, Breerwood said he wants to continue to bring pride, respect, class and character to the Poplarville community through his students.
“If you can get behind us as a community, we can grow that college and in turn grow the community,” Breerwood said. “This is my home, I didn’t just stop here on my way to somewhere else.”
Chamber members then presented their awards to members of the community.
Public Works Superintendent Sam Hale was presented with the City Worker of the year award for his work in making Poplarville “a better place to live, work and play,” Byron Wells said.
Brittany Krutzfeldt presented William Joey Seal with the Fireman of the Year award for his attributes as a good firefighter and a good person.
Poplarville Police Chief Butch Raby presented one of his officers, Damon Carr, with the Policeman of the Year award for his initiative and work ethic.
Raby said Carr has displayed a love for the community during his 11 years with the department.
A new award this year went to a young member of the community who has shown great community service, Chamber President Maggie Smith said.
Gabe Entrekin, a 10th grade student at Poplarville High School, was awarded Future Leader of the Year.
When he was 13 years-old, he completed a service project with the Boy Scouts Troop 28 and became an Eagle Scout, earning him a $6,000 scholarship to Mississippi State University where he plans to study mechanical engineering, Smith said.
Chamber Vice President Monet Kees then presented the Volunteer of the Year award to Dale Adams for her work with a number of organizations including Backpack Buddies, the Poplarville group home and an organization that knits strips of plastic bags into waterproof mats for the homeless.
Lastly, Pam LaHaye presented the Citizen of the Year award to Carol Williams of PRCC.
LaHaye described Williams as “honest, fair, friendly, helpful,” and as a woman worthy of the award.
As a teacher, Williams showed a “passion in helping students become the best they could be,” LaHaye said.
Williams continued to reach students in the Poplarville community by working with the Backpack Buddies program to provide 100-125 children with meals every weekend, LaHaye said.
Smith also announced the Chamber will be holding its annual Christmas Parade on Dec. 2 and the Parade of Homes and Christmas Bazaar on Dec. 11.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

About Julia Arenstam

Staff Writer

email author More by Julia