Pearl River County expecting above average voter turnout

Published 7:00 am Friday, November 4, 2016

Despite the Mississippi Secretary of State predicting a below average voter turnout, Pearl River County is seeing an above average number of absentee ballots.
Pearl River County Circuit Clerk Nance Stokes said they have already received around 1,700 absentee ballots.
“Based on the number of absentee ballots, the turnout is expected to be higher than the previous election,” Stokes said.
This is her first presidential election as Circuit Clerk and she said she doesn’t anticipate any issues with the voting process this year.
Several national and local offices will be included on Tuesday’s ballot, including president of the United States, U.S. House of Representatives Fourth Congressional District, State Supreme Court Judge, Election Commissioners and State House of Representative District 106.
Candidates running for president of the United States include, Hillary Clinton (D), Donald J. Trump (R), Darrell Castle (C), “Rocky” Roque De La Fuente (AD), Jim Hedges (P), Gary Johnson (L) and Jill Stein (G).
The four qualifying candidates for the U.S. House of Representatives District Four seat are: Mark Gladney (D), incumbent Steven Palazzo (R), Richard Blake McCluskey (LB) and Shawn O’Hara (RF).
Palazzo was elected in 2010 and is running for his fourth term as a U.S. Representative for Mississippi.
Gladney is a newcomer to the political arena, bringing his military and business background to the campaign.
Gladney has been heavily campaigning in the area, calling for education reform and greater protection and services for veterans.
The two qualifying candidates for District 2 of the Mississippi Supreme Court are incumbent Dawn H. Beam and Michael T. Shareef.
A total of nine Supreme Court justices are elected from the three districts, with three from each district, according to
District Two covers 21 counties, including Pearl River County, according to
David Ishee is running unopposed for a seat in the District 5 Court of Appeals. Ishee was appointed by former Governor Haley Barbour in 2004.
The five qualifying candidates for the State House of Representatives District 106 seat are John Glenn Corley, Larry D. Davis, Greg Holcomb, Ben Winston and Daniel Wise.
The seat was vacated by former Rep. Herb Frierson after Governor Bryant appointed him as Commissioner of Revenue in July.
Election Commissioners for Districts 1 through 4 are running unopposed. They are Virgie Hart Bolton, Margaret J. Woodson, Tommy Breland and Reggie W. Hanberry, respectively.
There are two candidates for the District 5 position, incumbent Michelle Bogt and Johnny Stafford.
Jacob “Jake” Smith is also running unopposed for the empty seat on the Picayune School Board.
Stokes said polling locations in the county have not changed and voters need to bring a government issued photo ID in order to vote.
Acceptable forms of ID include a Mississippi driver’s license or ID card, current passport, current U.S. military ID, current ID card issued by any agency of the US government, State of Mississippi or local government unit in the state, current ID card from an accredited institution of higher learning, valid tribal ID card or current Mississippi license to carry a gun.
The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 8.
To find the location of the proper voting precinct, visit the Secretary of State’s website at or contact the Pearl River County Circuit Clerk’s office at 601-403-2300.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

About Julia Arenstam

Staff Writer

email author More by Julia