Unofficial outcomes of Tuesday’s primary election announced (corrected)

Published 7:00 am Wednesday, August 5, 2015

LET YOUR VOICE BE HEARD: Pearl River County residents Patricia and Steve Deshotel vote during the primary elections on Tuesday at the Chimney Square county building. Photo by Ashley Collins.

This is a corrected version of the election coverage that ran in today’s paper. We will run an updated version with absentee totals in tomorrow’s edition. The previous version incorrectly implied Republican and Democratic candidates were on the same ticket, and omitted the Chancery Court, Sheriff and County Attorney races.

Residents from Pearl River County exercised their right to vote during Tuesday’s primary election. With all 32 precincts reporting here are the unofficial results for the primary election at press time.

In the race for Mississippi’s Governor, Phil Bryant led with 7,993 votes followed by Mitch Young with 1,196 votes, on the Republican ballot. On the Democratic ballot, Robert Gray led with 415 votes, Valerie Adream Smartt Short with 343 votes and Vicki Slater with 256 votes.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the race for Lieutenant Governor on the Republican ballot, Tate Reeves led with 6,806 votes followed by A. Nelson McElhenney with 2,175 votes. On the Democratic ballot Tim Johnson led with 625 votes followed by Jelani Barr with 313 votes.

In the race for Secretary of State, Republican candidate Delbert Hosemann received 8,411 votes, while Democratic candidate Charles E. Graham received 892 votes.

For the seat of Attorney General, Republican candidate Mike Hurst received 8,344 votes while Democratic candidate Jim Hood received 952 votes.

In the race for State Auditor, Stacey E. Pickering led with 5,379 votes followed by Mary Hawkins Butler with 3,305 votes on the Republican ticket, while Democratic candidate Jocelyn Pepper Pritchett received 900 votes.

For State Treasurer, Republican Lynn Fitch led with 5,143 votes while David McRae followed with 3,465 votes.

For Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce, Republican Cindy Hyde-Smith received 8,395 votes while Democratic candidate Addie Lee Green received 902 votes.

In the Republican race for Commissioner of insurance, Mike Chaney led with 5,899 votes to John Mosley’s 2,725 votes.

For the seat of Public Service Commissioner Southern District, Tony Smith led Pearl River County’s Republican ticket with 4,813 votes followed by Samuel F. ‘Sam’ Britton with 2,663 votes and Mike Collier with 1,419 votes. Democratic candidate Tom Blanton received 894 votes.

In the race for Pearl River Tax Collector/Assessor, Gary Beech led the Republican ticket with 6,668 votes followed by Andrew J. Williams III (R) with 2,396 votes. Democratic candidate Shirley J. Walker Ceaser received 958 votes.

In the Republican race for State Senate District 47, Anne G. Smith received 1,019 votes, Rogena Mitchell received 441 votes, Joseph M. ‘Mike Seymour received 486 votes, and Mike Tyson received 1,153 votes. Democratic candidate Jimmy L. ‘Bo” Alawine received 552 votes.

In the race for State House of Representatives District 93, Republican candidate Timmy Ladner received 1,271 votes while Democratic candidate Billy Joe Ladner received 38 votes.

For the state House of Representatives District 108, Republican candidate Mark S. Formby received 3,452 votes while Democratic candidate Leavern Guy received 585 votes.

In the Republican race for Southern District Transportation Commissioner Tom King received 8,236 votes, while on the Democratic ticket Chad Toney received 892 votes.

In the Republican race for Sheriff, incumbent David Allison led with 5,634 votes, followed by John “Tank” Herring with 2,351 votes and Charlie Fazende with 1,392 votes.

In the Republican primary race for Circuit Clerk, Nance Fitzpatrick Stokes led with 3,366 votes followed by Sian B. Fazende with 2,340 votes, Darrell W. Darden with 1,783 votes, Aprel Purvis with 950 votes, and Rance Bedwell with 673 votes. Democratic candidate Jeff Brady received 897 votes.

In the Republican race for Chancery Clerk incumbent David Earl Johnson led with 4,188 votes, followed by Melinda Smith Bowman with 3,661 votes and Dale Miller with 1,276 votes.

In the Republican race for County Prosecuting Attorney incumbent Aaron Russell Jr. led with 4,985 votes while Kevin Roberts received 3,702 votes.

For the seat of Coroner, Republican candidate Derek Turnage received 8,499 votes while Democratic candidate David Brumfield received 981 votes.

For Supervisor District I on the Republican ticket Russell Foster led with 384 votes, Lavar Thompson followed with 200 votes, Mark ‘Chief’ Thorman received 131 votes. On the Democratic ballot, Donald Hart led with 475 votes followed by Patrick ‘Stone Head’ Collins with 155 votes, Jimmy Buckley received 59 votes, Leavern Guy Jr. received 54 votes, Cubby Donston received 26 votes, Charles Edward Jones received 16 votes and Clinton ‘Clemmon’ Jordan received 6 votes.

In the race for Supervisor District 2, Republican candidate Malcolm Perry led that ticket with 1,469 votes followed by David M. Bullen with 800 votes and Frank Vaccarella with 223 votes.

In the race for Supervisor District 3, Republican candidate Hudson Holliday led that ticket with 913 votes, followed by Dennis W. Dedeaux with 910 votes and Sylvester Lewis with 563 votes.

In the Republican race for Supervisor District 4, Farron Moeller led with 935 votes followed by J. Patrick Lee with 432 votes, Chris Smith with 226 votes and M.D. Don Fleming with 73 votes.

In the Republican race for Supervisor District 5, candidate Sandy Kane Smith led with 1,157 votes followed by Donnie Saucier with 817 votes.

In the Republican race for North District J.C., James Hal Breland led with 2,800 votes followed by Michael Brown with 1,368 votes.

In the Republican race for Constable North District, Danny Joe Slade led with 3,043 votes followed by Joe Garcia with 1,107 votes.

In the Republican race for Constable South East, Ray Merle Bennett led with 1,175 votes followed by Dusty Dillard Jr. with 754 votes and Shane M. Edgar with 751 votes.

In the Republican race for Constable South West, Jason Hunt led with 1,169 votes followed by Edmon T. Penton with 905 votes.

The following races were uncontested, Republican John Mark Mitchell received 2,004 votes for the seat of South West Justice Court Judge, Republican Donald Fail received 2,650 votes for the seat of South East District Justice Court Judge, Republican Alan Lumpkin received 3,056 votes for the seat of Superintendent of Education for the Pearl River County School District, Republican Herb Frierson received 3,786 votes for the seat of District 106 House of Representatives, Republican John Polk received 823 votes for the seat of Senate District 44, Republican Angela Burks Hill received 4,692 votes for the seat of Senate District 40 and Hal Kittrell received 8,352 votes for the seat of 15th District Attorney.

In the contested races where a candidate did not receive 50 percent of the vote plus one, the two candidates with the most votes will head to the run off on Aug. 25.

Circuit Clerk Vickie Hariel said a little more then 600 absentee ballots and 133 affidavit ballots still need to be counted.

Among the 37,199 registered voters in the county, 28.43 percent voted in this primary election.

VOTING COUNTS: Dr. Lori Blackmer grabs a voting sticker from O.R. Raybon after voting on Tuesday inside the Chimney Square county building. Photo by Ashley Collins.