Election results updated with absentee

Published 7:00 am Thursday, August 6, 2015

Wednesday, a total of 616 republican and democratic absentee ballots were calculated into the results from the primary election, which was held on Tuesday. Here are the updated unofficial election results from the primary election.

In the race for Mississippi’s Governor, incumbent Phil Bryant led the Republican ballot with 8,426 votes followed by Mitch Young with 1,247 votes. On the Democratic ballot, Robert Gray led with 446 votes, Valerie Adream Smartt Short with 386 votes and Vicki Slater with 272 votes.

In the race for Lieutenant Governor on the Republican ballot, incumbent Tate Reeves led with 7,193 votes followed by A. Nelson McElhenney with 2,255 votes. On the Democratic ballot, Tim Johnson led with 689 votes followed by Jelani Barr with 337 votes.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the race for Secretary of State, Republican candidate incumbent Delbert Hosemann received 8,837 votes, while Democratic candidate Charles E. Graham received 974 votes.

For the seat of Attorney General, Republican candidate Mike Hurst received 8,768 votes while the Democratic incumbent Jim Hood received 1,040 votes.

In the race for State Auditor, incumbent Stacey E. Pickering led with 5,693 votes followed by Mary Hawkins Butler with 3,437 votes on the Republican ticket, while Democratic candidate Jocelyn Pepper Pritchett received 983 votes.

For State Treasurer, Republican incumbent Lynn Fitch led with 5,433 votes while David McRae followed with 3,621 votes.

For Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce, Republican Cindy Hyde-Smith received 8,828 votes while Democratic candidate Addie Lee Green received 984 votes.

In the Republican race for Commissioner of Insurance, incumbent Mike Chaney led with 6,206 votes to John Mosley’s 2,860 votes.

For the seat of Public Service Commissioner Southern District, Tony Smith led Pearl River County’s Republican ticket with 5,129 votes followed by Samuel F. ‘Sam’ Britton with 2,751 votes and Mike Collier with 1,478 votes. Democratic candidate Tom Blanton received 976 votes.

In the race for Pearl River Tax Collector/Assessor, incumbent Gary Beech led the Republican ticket with 7,043 votes followed by Andrew J. Williams III with 2,498 votes. Democratic candidate Shirley J. Walker Ceaser received 1,049 votes.

In the Republican race for State Senate District 47, Anne G. Smith received 1,076 votes, Rogena Mitchell received 465 votes, Joseph M. “Mike” Seymour received 514 votes, and Mike Tyson received 1,218 votes. Democratic candidate Jimmy L. “Bo” Alawine received 612 votes.

In the race for State House of Representatives District 93, Republican candidate Timmy Ladner received 1,338 votes while Democratic candidate Billy Joe Ladner received 44 votes.

For the state House of Representatives District 108, Republican incumbent Mark S. Formby received 3,622 votes while Democratic candidate Leavern Guy received 627 votes.

In the Republican race for Southern District Transportation Commissioner incumbent Tom King received 8,658 votes, while on the Democratic ticket Chad Toney received 976 votes.

In the Republican race for Sheriff, incumbent David Allison led with 5,922 votes, followed by John “Tank” Herring with 2,497 votes and Charlie Fazende with 1,453 votes.

In the Republican primary race for Circuit Clerk, Nance Fitzpatrick Stokes led with 3,556 votes followed by Sian B. Fazende with 2,465 votes, Darrell W. Darden with 1,864 votes, Aprel Purvis with 1,007 votes, and Rance Bedwell with 697 votes. Democratic candidate Jeff Brady received 976 votes.

In the Republican race for Chancery Clerk incumbent David Earl Johnson led with 4,420 votes, followed by Melinda Smith Bowman with 3,843 votes and Dale Miller with 1,340 votes.

In the Republican race for County Prosecuting Attorney incumbent Aaron Russell Jr. led with 5,285 votes while Kevin Roberts received 3,849 votes.

For the seat of Coroner, Republican incumbent Derek Turnage received 8,945 votes while Democratic candidate David Brumfield received 1,068 votes.

For Supervisor District I on the Republican ticket Russell Foster led with 408 votes, Lavar Thompson followed with 207 votes and Mark “Chief” Thorman received 138 votes. On the Democratic ballot, Donald Hart led with 514 votes followed by Patrick ‘Stone Head’ Collins with 167 votes, Jimmy Buckley received 68 votes, Leavern Guy Jr. received 60 votes, Cubby Donston received 26 votes, Charles Edward Jones received 18 votes and Clinton ‘Clemmon’ Jordan received 6 votes.

In the race for Supervisor District 2, Republican incumbent Malcolm Perry led that ticket with 1,541 votes followed by David M. Bullen with 849 votes and Frank Vaccarella with 241 votes.

In the race for Supervisor District 3, Republican candidate Hudson Holliday led that ticket with 963 votes, followed by incumbent Dennis W. Dedeaux with 948 votes and Sylvester Lewis with 596 votes.

In the Republican race for Supervisor District 4, Farron Moeller led with 998 votes followed by J. Patrick Lee with 447 votes, Chris Smith with 232 votes and M.D. Don Fleming with 74 votes.

In the Republican race for Supervisor District 5, incumbent Sandy Kane Smith led with 1,216 votes followed by Donnie Saucier with 858 votes. On the Democratic ballot, Michael “Mike” Thigpen received 88 votes.

In the Republican race for North District J.C., incumbent James Hal Breland led with 2,958 votes followed by Michael Brown with 1,434 votes.

In the Republican race for Constable North District, incumbent Danny Joe Slade led with 3,221 votes followed by Joe Garcia with 1,157 votes.

In the Republican race for Constable South East, incumbent Ray Merle Bennett led with 1,236 votes followed by Dusty Dillard Jr. with 794 votes and Shane M. Edgar with 786 votes.

In the Republican race for Constable South West, Jason Hunt led with 1,223 votes followed by incumbent Edmon T. Penton with 953 votes.

The following races were uncontested; Republican John Mark Mitchell received 2,104 votes for the seat of South West Justice Court Judge, Republican Donald Fail received 2,787 votes for the seat of South East District Justice Court Judge, Republican Alan Lumpkin received 3,199 votes for the seat of Superintendent of Education for the Pearl River County School District, Republican Herb Frierson received 3,992 votes for the seat of District 106 House of Representatives, Republican John Polk received 862 votes for the seat of Senate District 44, Republican Angela Burks Hill received 4,908 votes for the seat of Senate District 40 and Hal Kittrell received 8,776 votes for the seat of 15th District Attorney.

PRC Deputy Clerk Jansen Owen said the republican primary run-offs will be held on Aug. 25. On a state level, Mike Tyson will race against J.M. ‘Mike’ Seymour for the Senate District 47 seat and S.F. ‘Sam’ Britton will face Tony Smith in a run-off for Public Service Commissioner. On a county level, Melinda Smith Bowman will face incumbent David Earl Johnson for Chancery Clerk; Nance Fitzpatrick Stokes and Sian Fazende will face off for Circuit Clerk; Incumbent Dennis Dedeaux will face Hudson Holliday in a run-off for Supervisor District 3; and for the position of Constable Southeast, incumbent Ray Merle Bennett will face ‘Dusty’ Dillard, Jr. and Shane M. Edgar, who are separated by a handful of votes.

About 150 affidavit votes still needed to be processed and counted by press time Wednesday, Owen said.

Among the 37,199 registered voters in the county, 28.43 percent voted in this primary election.