School Board recognizes excellence

Published 7:00 am Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Monday, the Poplarville School Board recognized many of its staff and teachers for their work in the school district.
The first recognition of the night went to the Poplarville School Board.
Superintendent Carl Merritt said that no superintendent is effective without their board.
“They have been supportive of my vision for this district,” Merritt said.
Each member was presented a certificate of appreciation from the Mississippi School Board Association.
Poplarville Middle School Principal Heidi Dillon was recognized as Administrator of the Year.
A teacher from each school was also recognized.
The Teacher of the Year for Poplarville Lower Elementary was Kelsey Carroll.
Tammy Krutzfeldt was the Upper Elementary Teacher of the Year and Middle School Teacher of the Year was Debra Allred. Poplarville High School teacher Laurie Morrow was also recognized.
Eighth-grade Social Studies teacher Jennifer Tynes was also honored for receiving the Daughters of the American Revolution 2015 Outstanding Teacher of American History award.
In other action:
– Board member Lisa Graves was sworn in for another 5-year term.
– The board approved the creation of the student led First Priority Group.
The school board will meet again on Monday, March, 9 at 6 p.m. in the board’s office on Julia Street.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox