Upcoming Pearl River County elections

Published 7:00 am Thursday, January 15, 2015

The 2015 county election is fast approaching. The Pearl River County Circuit Clerk’s office said the deadline to apply for candidacy is coming up.

The deadline to apply for any Pearl River County position is Feb. 27 at 5 p.m., according to the Circuit Clerk’s office. If someone is interested in running for office, they have to go to the Circuit Clerk’s office located at 200 S. Main St. in Poplarville. Interested applicants will need to fill out a packet and pay the necessary fee.

The fees for party candidate applications are $10 to $15 depending on the position, Melinda Bowman with the Circuit Clerk’s office said. For anyone running as an Independent, there is no fee involved, but the candidate does have to collect a certain number of signatures.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

As of Jan. 6, the candidates in the running for county positions include, Republican incumbent David Marion Allison and Republican Charlie Fazende for Sheriff. Republican Aprel Purvis for Circuit Clerk. Republican incumbent Gary Beech for Tax Assessor/Collector.

Supervisor District 1 candidates include, Democrat Donald Hart, Democrat Jimmy Buckley, Republican Russell Foster, Democrat Clinton “Clemmon” Jordan, and Democrat Patrick Collins. Republican incumbent Malcom Perry is running for the position of Supervisor District 2. Supervisor District 3 candidates include, Republican incumbent Dennis W. Dedeaux, Republican Sylvester Lewis, and Republican Hudson Holliday. Supervisor District 4 candidates include, Republican incumbent J. Patrick Lee, Republican Eddie M.L. Smith, and Republican Farron Moeller. Supervisor District 5 candidates include, Republican Donnie Saucier and Republican incumbent Sandy Kane Smith.

Republican incumbent John Mark Mitchell is running for Justice Court Southwest. Republican incumbent Danny Joe Slade is running for Constable North. Justice Court North candidates include Republican Michael Brown and Republican incumbent James Hal Breland. Republican incumbent David Earl Johnson is running for Chancery Clerk. Republican Edmon Thalus Penton is running for Constable West. Republican Larry P. Dillard is running for Constable Southeast. Republican incumbent Derek Turnage is running for Coroner. Last but not least, Republican incumbent Donald D. Fail is running for Justice Court Southeast.