Poplarville coach, players receive honors

Published 7:00 am Thursday, December 18, 2014

Two Poplarville High School football players were selected to the All-State team and many others were awarded with All-District honors.

Poplarville guard Kyle Stringer made the All-State first team, while running back Malik Lucas was selected to the second team.

In addition to this honor, Lucas was awarded the Offensive Most Valuable Player in District 8-4A for the 2014 season.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“I’m proud of our guys,” said Poplarville Head Coach Jay Beech, “They are well-deserving of all the praise and awards they are getting.”

Beech received high praise as well. In his first season running the program, he was selected Coach of the Year in District 8-4A. Beech said he was thankful and honored that his fellow coaches voted for him for the award.

Aside from Lucas and Stringer, other Poplarville players who made the District 8-4A All-MVP team included Joey Seals from the offensive line, Blake Mata from the defensive line and defensive back Keith Dotson.

Poplarville’s Justin Dugas, Jake Smith, Anthony Martin, Devin Bonner, Dalton Richardson, Jesse Pernell and Brandon McBride were voted to the All-District First Team.