Official Election Results; Cochran, Palazzo cruise to victory

Published 7:00 am Thursday, November 6, 2014

With 100 percent of all precincts reporting, the official results for Tuesday’s general elections have been calculated.

Republican Thad Cochran was elected to his seventh consecutive term in the United States Senate with 60 percent of the vote in Mississippi. Cochran carried 58 counties across the state, including Pearl River County, where he received 72.13 percent of the vote

Incumbent Republican Congressman Steven Palazzo also retained his seat as representative for the fourth Congressional District of Mississippi, winning 70 percent of the vote statewide and 77.92 percent of the vote in Pearl River County.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“As your Congressman, I will continue to do as I promised four years ago: put Mississippians and our values first, hold this Administration accountable, and support policies that will strengthen our national security and grow our economy,” said Palazzo in his victory statement.

Nonpartisan candidate Anthony A. Mozingo defeated James L. ‘Jim’ Gray in the race for Place 1, District 15 Circuit Court Judge with 60 percent of the votes within the district. Mozingo won the election despite losing Pearl River County, where 61.92 percent of voters cast their ballots for Gray.

“Judge Mozingo is both humbled and pleased to be given the opportunity to continue the work of a fair and just court for all of the people of the Fifteenth District,” said Mozingo’s staff attorney, Tim Evans, in a statement to the press.

In the race for Pearl River County District Two Supervisor, Malcolm Perry received 27.52 percent of the vote and James Ernie Clark received 22.21 percent of the vote. The two candidates will participate in a runoff election on Nov. 25.

Pearl River County is home to 37,354 registered voters, and 11,210 of them punched a ballot on Tuesday, which totals to a 30.01 percent voter turnout rate.