Tide trio selected

Published 1:00 pm Thursday, October 18, 2012

Wednesday was an historic day for the Picayune football program.

For the first time ever in the history of the prestigious Alabama/Mississippi All-Star Football Classic, the Maroon Tide had three players selected for that prestigious content.

At a press conference held at the Mississippi Association of Coaches office, it was announced that offensive linemen Jacob Feely and Joey Reynolds as well as fullback Desmond Taylor were all picked to be members of the Mississippi team.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The game will take place on Saturday, Dec. 15th at the historic Crampton Bowl in Montgomery, Ala. That venue, in addition to playing host to many important prep and college games over the past several decades, was host for years to the Blue-Gray All-Star game on Christmas day.

Picayune was only one of two schools to have the maximum of three players picked for the game with Noxubee County being the other.

“It is good recognition for our program, and for the kids,” veteran Picayune head coach Dodd Lee, who was an assistant coach for the Mississippi team nine years ago, said. “I hope the players will represent the school and themselves real well.”

Twice before in the history of the game, in 2004 and 2007, Picayune had two players selected for the game but only in 2004 did two Maroon Tide players participate in the game.

Other top players on the Mississippi squad are West Bolivar running back Kailo Moore, Itawamba running back Ashton Shumpert, Eupora wide receiver Derrick Jones, Wayne County offensive lineman Devin Farrior, South Panola offensive lineman Deon Mix, Starkville defensive back Gabriel Myles and South Panola defensive back Antonio Conner.

Nine players on the roster are committed to Mississippi State: Biloxi’s Scott Austin, Moore, Mix, Myles, Simmons offensive lineman Kent Flowers, Columbus offensive lineman Jake Thomas, Houston defensive end Chris Jones, Tylertown defensive back Tyre’oune Holmes and Bogue Chitto defensive back Brandon Wells. Derrick Jones is Ole Miss’ lone commitment in the game, while Southern Miss has four: Farrior, Petal wide receiver Jamarcus Revies, Brookhaven defensive lineman Jaboree Poole and Pearl defensive back Evan Osbourne. Biloxi’s Tavarious McCormick is a South Alabama commitment.

Wes Windham of Ocean Springs is one of the quarterbacks.

Eupora’s Junior Graham will serve as Mississippi head coach. Alabama leads the all-time series 17-8, including victories in each of the last four years.

Also on Wednesday, four local players were selected to play in the 64th annual Bernard Blackwell North/South Mississippi All-star game.

A trio of Pearl River Central players were selected, running back/Defensive end Desmond Michel, linebacker Adam Perronne and linebacker Brandon Padgett.

Also, Picayune running back/defensive end Doug Cross was chosen for the game as well.

In addition, PRC head coach Eric Collins will be an assistant for the South team. The game will take place on Saturday, Dec. 22nd at Milner Stadium in Gulfport.