Sen. Hill named to Bicentennial Commission

Published 12:15 pm Wednesday, August 22, 2012

State Sen. Angela Burks Hill (R-Picayune) has been named a member of the Mississippi Bicentennial Celebration Commission by Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves.

The Picayune freshman state senator joins two other state senators on the commission, which will plan and implement the state’s 200th birthday celebration.

Mississippi became the 20th state to join the Union on Dec. 10, 1817.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Said Hill, “Since I am so passionate about preserving the history of our country and state, I am very humbled to be a part of such a significant event. I want our children and grandchildren to understand the courage and sacrifice it took to build this great country state by state.”

One senator from each of the state’s three State Supreme Court Districts was named by Reeves. House Speaker Philip Gunn and Gov. Phil Bryant also will make appointments to the commission. Hill represents the Second Supreme Court District.

The two other Reeves’ appointees were Sen. Lydia Chassaniol of Winona and Sen. Will Longwitz of Madison. Chassaniol is chairman of the Tourism Committee.

Hill and Longwitz’s appointments run through Jan. 3, 2016.

Chairman of the commission is H.T. Holmes, executive director of the Miss. Dept. of Archives and History.

A rare, 20-star flag, one of only a handful known to exist, is the official symbol of the Bicentennial Commission. The flag will be restored as funds are raised through The Foundation for Mississippi History.

Hill represents the 40th Senatorial District in the State Senate. Her district consists of portions of Pearl River, Marion and Walthall counties.