Civic Women’s Club of Picayune host District Convention

Published 3:01 pm Wednesday, April 18, 2012

The Civic Woman’s Club (CWC) of Picayune hosted the GFWC-MFWC District Convention, with 29 members of the club in attendance. District 1 President Sandra Wright presided over the meeting.

The CWC members have been very active in the Picayune community under the leadership of President Kathleen Penton. They have been involved in the Picayune community though countless hours of service in the areas of Arts, Conservation, Education, Home Life, International Outreach and Public Issues, as well as sponsoring the Christmas Pilgrimage and Christmas Parade.

The club received third place awards in: Scrapbook (Classification 3), Miss. Public Broadcasting, Domestic Violence— GFWC Signature Project and Arts— Collaboration.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The club received second place awards in: State Institutions, Membership, Fundraising, Public Issues— Collaboration, International Outreach— Partnership, International Outreach— Collaboration and Conservation— Collaboration.

The club received first place awards for: Yearbook (Classification C-2), GFWC Junior Signature Project: Advocate for Children, Women’s History and Resource Center, Leadership, Communication, MFWC President’s Special Project— Feeding Fellow Mississippians, Public Issues— Partnership, Home Life— Partnership, Home Life— Collaboration, Education— Partnership, Conservation— Partnership and Arts— Partnership.

District 1 President Wright recognized the club as “District Club of the Year.”

CWC members Nancy Griffin and Darlene Adams serve on the District 1 Executive Board. Donna Cooper, Jennifer Houston, Carolyn Huey and Kathleen Penton served as voting delegates to the convention.

Club members in attendance were: Darlene Adams, Deborah Benoit, Mary Ellen Bright, Tracy Brumfield, Jan Bynum, Donna Cooper, Kerry Cortez, Heather Duckett, Suzy Dyle, Tammy Fillingame, Nancy Griffin, Tami Harris, April Holifield, Jennifer Houston, Sandy Houston, Carolyn Huey, Mary Isbell, Denise Jarrell, Rebecca Jarrell, Missy Lee, Gail Mitchell, Stephanie Morris, Cindy Murchinson, Kathleen Penton, Audeline Smith, Lorri Stockstill, Shirley Stough, Connie Tapley and Connie Windham.

District 1 recognized many outstanding clubwomen and clubs within the district. Awards and certificates were given out to many for their achievements. President Wright awarded “District 1 Clubwoman of the Year” to Donna Hutchings from the Woman’s Club of Gulfport.