Allison wins second term, Hales race very close, Frierson wins

Published 3:11 pm Wednesday, November 9, 2011

In incomplete and unofficial returns late Tuesday night, Pearl River County Sheriff David Allison was on his way to winning his second term as sheriff of Pearl River County.

The Picayune businessman, who first won election as sheriff in November 2007, had 3,145 votes to his opponent, Independent Frank Vaccarella’s 1,203 votes, a margin of three to one with about half the precincts reporting..

Allison ran as a Republican.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Said Allison: “We are just tickled to death and well pleased with the support the people gave us. We are glad the election is over and we can get back to devoting 100 percent of our time helping and protecting the people of Pearl River County.”

In the two contested races for supervisor, District One Supervisor and board president Anthony Hales, Sr., was trailing GOP challenger Vernon Culpepper slightly 661 to Hales 647. The race was too close to call at press time. Hales is seeking his fifth term and runs as a Democrat.

In the race for District Four, incumbent GOP Supervisor J. Patrick Lee was on his way to beating long-time political activist Democrat Frank N. Egger. Lee had 1,595 votes to Egger’s 613.

In other county races, Pearl River County Justice Court Judge James Hal Breland of the North District was winning in a landslide. With 67 percent of precincts reporting, Breland had 3,091 votes to Independent Don Lee’s 582.

In the race for Justice Court Judge, South East, with 61 percent of precincts reporting, GOP candidate Donald Fail was leading Independent James Gray 843 votes to 171.

In the race for Constable, South West, GOP incumbent Çharles Stockstill, with 67 percent of precincts reporting, was ahead of challenger Democrat Reggie Smith 411 to 147 votes.

In the Pearl River Central School Board races, in District One challenger Rodney Dyess was leading incumbent Sherwin Taylor 444 to 256 votes with 61 percent of precincts reporting.

In District Two, incumbent Jeremy Weir, with 67 percent of precincts reporting, was leading challenger Bonnie Sanders Thompson 291 to 116.

And in what was a stunning upset in House District 93, Republican challenger John “Timmy” Ladner beat incumbent Democrat Dirk D. Dedeaux 4,219 to 3,883 with 100 percent of precincts reporting, according to returns from WLOX.

District 93 takes in two boxes in southeastern Pearl River County in the Steep Hollow and Salem communities. Dedeaux has been in the State Legislature since 1996 and is chairman of the House Medicaid Committee.

In House District 106, long-time incumbent Republican State Rep. Herb Frierson easily won re-election over Donna Knezevich, a Libertarian. The vote was Frierson 3,536 to Knezevich’s 703.

Pearl River County voters in regional and statewide races with returns are incomplete and unofficial, cast ballots:

For governor: Bryant 7595, DuPree 1661. For Lt. Gov.: Reeves 7840, O’Hara Hill 954. For Attorney General: Hood 3493, Simpson 5518. For State Auditor: Pickering 7335, Norwood 128. State Treasurer: Fitch 6594, Moran 1906, OHara 490. Ag Commissioner: Gill 1712, Hyde-Smith 6885, Toole 375. Insurance Commissioner: Chaney 7102, Fondren 1279, Washer 600. Southern Public Service Commissioner: Bentz 6829, Collier 2070.

Transportation commissioner, Southern District: Larry L. Albritton 2968, Tom King 6018. State House District 93: Dirk D. Dedeaux 160, John “Timmy” Ladner 359. State House District 106: Frierson 3941, Knezevich 737.

All three initiatives carried in Pearl River County: Definition of a person, yes 5612, no 3484; voter ID, yes 6700, no 2380; and eminent domain, yes 7572, no 1586.

Statewide the definition of a person failed and the other two were approved.