Barbour: 36 counties eligible for aid through FEMA

Published 2:25 pm Friday, May 20, 2011

Gov. Haley Barbour says 36 counties affected by severe storms, flooding and tornadoes that occurred April 15-April 28 are now eligible for public assistance reimbursement through FEMA.

Barbour said Wednesday that the declaration will allow local governments as well as state government to recover costs and losses caused by the storms.

Public assistance provides a reimbursement grant of 75 percent of eligible costs for the following: debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairs to road systems, bridges, public-owned buildings, water control facilities, public-utility systems, parks and recreational facilities.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The eligible counties include: Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, DeSoto, Greene, Hinds, Holmes, Itawamba, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman, Scott, Smith, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Webster and Winston.