GFWC/MFWC Civic Woman’s Club of Picayune – Annual Awards

Published 1:38 am Sunday, February 13, 2011

The GFWC-MFWC Civic Woman’s Club of Picayune held its local Awards Program and Founder Recognition on January 20,2010. During 2010 under the leadership of Presidents Donna Cooper and Kathleen Penton, the members have donated countless hours in service to the Picayune community, as well as sponsoring the Christmas Pilgrimage and the Christmas Parade.

The club founded in 1959 is fifty-two years old. Audeline Smith is the only charter member that is still active at this time. She has served as President at four different times and has held every office and chairmanship in the local club. Audie held many positions in district and state levels of club work. She served as District I President and Treasurer and on the Executive Board of the Mississippi Federation of Women’s Club. She most recently served as State Chaplain for the Mississippi Federation in the 2008 2010 administration. In honor of Founder Audeline Smith, the club plans to plant a tree at West Side Elementary School where she attended as a child growing up in Picayune.

Mary Hugh Roberts, Jennifer Houston, Suzy Dyle, and Tracy Brumfield received Service Awards for outstanding work in the club. Each of these ladies graciously volunteered on many projects for children and senior adults alike in the community.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Heather Duckett received the Volunteer of the Year Award for her untiring willingness to volunteer her time, talents, and efforts for the community. She is married to Jamie Duckett and is the mother of three children. She owns her an embroidery business. Heather is an active volunteer at West Side Elementary School and First United Methodist Church.

Civic Woman’s Club named Tami Harris as New Clubwoman of the Year. She has had perfect attendance and has worked on every project in the club. Tami is married with one grandchild and is self-employed.

Tammy Fillingame received the Dedication Award for her faithfulness to the club. She is behind the camera on every occasion. Tammy worked with the Juniorettes and with the club scrapbook committee. She is single and works at Stennis Space Center.

The Ideal Clubwoman for 2010 was Jan Sweet. She joined the club last year and became an instant worker. She gave a program on women’s health issues and chaired the Education Community Service Program. She led the club in its first Reading with Santa for preschoolers in 2010. Jan and her husband, Eugene Sweet, have one son and one grandson. She is the Director of Nurses with the Picayune School District.

Civic Woman’s Club Clubwoman of the year for 2010 went to Sandy Houston. She has been part of the core of club work for several years. Last year she chaired the annual Christmas Parade and was a home chairman for the Christmas Pilgrimage. Sandy facilitates a Grief Support Group in her home on a monthly basis. She is an active member of First Baptist Church of Picayune. She and her husband, John, are the parents of Civic Woman’s Club member, Jennifer Houston.

The clubs congratulates these local ladies for their dedication, faithfulness, and hard work to the citizens of the Picayune community.