Candidates filing, as of this week, mostly Republicans

Published 3:16 pm Thursday, January 13, 2011

Filings at the circuit court office here shows that the vast majority of those filing for local public office are Republicans.

Only two Democrats have filed so far, and that is in the District One supervisor race: incumbent Anthony Hales and challenger Jimmy Buckley, the latest compilation of filings showed on Tuesday.

Prospective candidates have until March 1 to file. The first primaries are Aug. 2 and the General Election is Nov. 8.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Others filing included for:

Sheriff: Incumbent David Allison and Joe Smith.

Chancery Clerk: David Earl Johnson.

Circuit Clerk: Adrain Lumpkin, Jr.

Tax collector-assessor: Gary Beech.

Coroner: Derek Turnage.

County prosecuting attorney: Cheryl D. Johnson and Laurie J. Hutchings.

Justice Court Judge North District: James Hal Breland.

Justice Court Judge East District: Farron Moeller, Ray M. Bennett, and Donald D. Fail.

Supervisor District One: Anthony Hales and Jimmy Buckley.

Supervisor District Two: Joyce Culpepper and Clark Bryan.

Supervisor District Three: Bobby Strahan, Irvin Templet, Kelton Smith, Kendall McClinton and Dennis W. DeDeaux. Current District Three incumbent supervisor Hudson Holliday, a GOP candidate for governor, said he will not seek re-election as supervisor.

Supervisor District Four: J. Patrick Lee.

Supervisor District Five: Sandy Kane Smith.

Constable North District: Harlan Amacker, Ronnie Walters, Danny Joe Slade and Rossie Creel.

Constable East District: Justin Faia.