One judge stays, one goes, run off for third seat

Published 1:31 pm Thursday, November 4, 2010

Results from Tuesday’s election district wide show one Circuit Court Judge will be replaced, while another incumbent will remain.

A run off will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 23 in a Chancery Court race.

Long standing Circuit Court District 15 Place 1 Judge R.I. Prichard was defeated in Tuesday’s election by Tony Mozingo who garnered 52 percent of the vote or 21,961 votes, according to Associated Press reports. The two men were the only candidates running for that seat. Prichard received 48 percent, or 20,124 votes.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

For the seat of Circuit Court District 15 Place 2, incumbent Judge Prentiss Harrell beat Joseph L. Turney by receiving 73 percent of the vote, or 29,734 votes. Turney received 27 percent, or 11,100 votes.

A run off will be held on Nov. 23, for the seat of Chancery Court District 10 Place 2 between Dawn Beam, who received 47 percent of the vote, or 24,724 votes, and Scott Phillips who received 36 percent of the vote, or 18,541 votes. Both candidates beat Pearl River County native Aaron Russell, who was also running for the seat. Russell received 17 percent of the district’s vote, or 8,958 votes.

Attempts for voters to fill the seat of the late James H.C. Thomas for Chancery Court District 10 Place 2 Chancellor were unsuccessful since he still received the majority of the vote in five of the counties comprising the district. Forrest County was the only county in the district were voters gave more write-in votes than voted for the late Thomas, who died early in October, according to WDAM. Now the seat will have to be filled by appointment from the governor’s office until an election can be held.