Disaster declaration for farm losses in 5 states

Published 2:33 pm Thursday, November 19, 2009

Federal agriculture authorities have declared disaster areas in parts of Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee due to crop losses from a combination of severe spring and fall flooding and summer drought.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said the declaration will “provide help to hundreds of farmers who suffered significant production losses to a wide variety of crops.”

The declaration qualifies many farmers in the designated areas for low interest emergency loans from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The primary disaster areas are in 79 Mississippi counties and contiguous counties and parishes in the other states.