Wilbert Jones ahead in special Miss. House vote

Published 6:56 pm Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Voters in Mississippi House District 82 cast ballots in a special election and WTOK-TV reports Wilbert Jones led preliminary unofficial returns with 947 votes.

The winner of Tuesday’s special election in Lauderdale County will complete the unexpired term of Rep. Charles Young Sr., who died in April. The term runs until January 2012.

With all 12 precincts reporting, WTOK in Meridian reports unofficial returns show Bill Marcy had 751 votes, Robert Barfield had 302 votes; John Harris had 225; and Roscoe Jones had 48 votes.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

A runoff will be held June 30 if needed.

WTOK said the preliminary count did not include absentee ballots and more results were awaited late Tuesday.