FEMA grants Mississippi disaster declaration

Published 9:01 pm Wednesday, May 13, 2009

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has granted Gov. Haley Barbour’s request for a disaster declaration in 10 of 30 counties hit in late March with severe storms and flooding.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency said Tuesday that damages in the 30 counties topped $4.3 million.

FEMA’s public assistance program provides aid for debris removal and emergency protective measures and for the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged public facilities. The program also covers some private, nonprofit organizations.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The counties eligible under the declaration are Amite, Greene, Jackson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Simpson, Stone, Walthall, Wayne and Wilkinson.