Final list of candidates for city offices

Published 12:29 am Tuesday, March 10, 2009

The following candidates running for city offices in Picayune and Poplarville have qualified.

In Picayune, every office has at least two people vying for the position.

In the 1st Precinct, incumbent Larry Watkins (R) and Jeff Lossett (R) have qualified for council.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the 2nd Precinct, incumbent Donald Parker (D), Lynn Bogan Bumpers (I), Kimberly Chapman (D) and Robert Jefferson (D) have qualified for council.

In the 3rd Precinct, incumbent Anna Turnage (R) and Jason Todd Lane (R) have qualified for council.

In the 4th Precinct, Larry Breland (D) and incumbent Leavern Guy (D) have qualified for council.

In the 5th Precinct, Howard Alexander (R), Wayne Gouget (R) and Jeff Harrington (R) have qualified for council.

For Picayune mayor state Sen. Ezell Lee (D), former city manager Ed Pinero Jr. (R), Frank Egger (D) and former city councilman Mark Thorman (D) have qualified.

Candidates for the Picayune Republican executive committee are Cecil L. Watkins, Ann B. Parker, J. Houston Costolo III, Suzan Wilson, G. Gerald Cruthird and Billie G. Edwards.

Candidates for the Picayune Democratic executive committee are Clinton R. Baker, Constance Doby, Laura Denise Pickett, Audrey M. Williams, Gail DeJunette and Akim L. Ceaser.

In Poplarville the following candidates have qualified.

For alderman at large Ronald L. Dunston (D), incumbent John A. Grant Jr. (D), Don Lee (D), incumbent Byron L. Wells (D), incumbent Shirley W. Wiltshire (D), incumbent William M. “Bill” Winborn (D), Melinda Bowman (R), incumbent John Sherman (R) and Anne G. Smith (R) have qualified.

Candidates who have qualified for Poplarville mayor are incumbent Billy W. Spiers (D) and Everett Earl Lawrence (R).

The Democratic executive committee of Poplarville has Carrie Lee Hales as the only qualifying candidate. For the Republican executive committee Betty L. Beatty, Michele Lott Lewis and Charles B. Schmitz have qualified.

The primary election for all offices in both cities will be held on Tuesday, May 5.

The general election will be Tuesday, June 2.

Winners will take office on July 6.