PRC Blue Maskers garner 11 awards

Published 10:21 pm Tuesday, January 27, 2009

The Pearl River Central High School Blue Maskers performed last weekend at the Mississippi Theatre Association’s annual drama festival in several categories. The Blue Maskers received 11 awards, the fourth highest number of awards received by the 14 high schools represented at the festival. In the high school play division, Cory Clutter received an All-Star cast award for “Cave of the Dragon’s Teeth.” In the children’s theatre division, Dylan Stump received an All-Star cast award for “The Timid Dragon.” The cast and crew of “The Timid Dragon” received a costume award. In the ten-minute play contest, Amanda McKay received Best Actress; Zack Lancaster received Best Actor; Cory Clutter and Rick Wormser received All-Star Cast awards; Sean Ortolano was a cast recipient for Best Ensemble work and Best directed and Amanda McKay was a cast recipient for Best Play. In individual events, Felicia Mitchell placed second for set design; Hillary Stump and Nick Kubicki placed second in original scenes and Keagan Johnson, Haley Jones and Hana Mitchell placed second in group scenes. The winning high school and state title went to Laurel Christian School. The Blue Maskers will now present “Cave of the Dragon’s Teeth” at the Mississippi Thespian conference, Jan. 30-31 at Gulfport High School. Sponsors for the Blue Maskers are Deborah Craig, Chris King, Tara Poolson, and Judy Myers.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox