Billups on Mississippi team

Published 1:40 am Friday, November 7, 2008


Item Sports Editor

JACKSON — Picayune standout two-way lineman Jonathan Billups was selected to compete for the Mississippi team in the annual Alabama/Mississippi All-Star Football Classic.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The prestigious game takes place Saturday, Dec. 13th in Mobile, Ala., at legendary Ladd-Peebles Stadium. This is the 22nd edition of the all-star affair.

“I am proud of Jon, this is a big honor for him,” Picayune head coach Dodd Lee said. “He is a fine football player and a fine person. He deserves this.”

Billups, who starts at both offensive tackle and defensive tackle for the playoff bound Maroon Tide, was selected as a defensive lineman for the game but could play on both sides of the ball.

This is the third straight time Picayune has had a player picked for the game, a school record.

The Mississippi team that was announced on Wednesday consists of: quarterbacks Tyler Russell, Meridian; Jamie Collins, Franklin County; running backs Tracey “Pound” Lampley, Wayne County; Isaiah Newsome, Petal; Kendrick Hardy, Lawrence County; LaDarius Perkins, Greenville St. Joseph, recievers Patrick Patterson, Noxubee County; Kevin Norwood, D’Iberville; Billy Hamilton, Taylorsville; Chad Bumphis, Tupelo; Tevin Blanchard, Aberdeen and offensive linemen Aubrey Phillips, Olive Branch; Don Blevins, South Panola; Devin Slayton, Lafayette County; Sam Marshall, Itawamba AHS; Jamie McCoy, Hattiesburg; Fred Smith, Newton County; Brandon Bender, Laurel

On defense, linemen William Shumpert, Itawamba AHS; Jon Billups, Picayune; Josh Boyd, Philadelphia; LaDerrian Cook, Bassfield; DeAuntray Payne, Tupelo, ends and linebackers Deontae Skinner, Noxubee County; Willie Daniels, Wayne County; Fletcher Cox, Yazoo City; David Conner, South Panola; Will Martin, Madison Central; Marvin Burdette, South Panola and defensive backs Rod Woodson, Olive Branch; Khairi Usher, Meridian; Charles Harris, Charleston; Martez Thompson, Pascagoula; Keshun Cowan, Olive Branch; Montez Phillips, Lafayete County.

The athlete is Dennis Thames, Louisville and Travis Bradley, Pascagoula will kick.