Residents in Gustav-damaged counties OK’d for aid

Published 9:57 pm Saturday, September 27, 2008

Residents in three Mississippi counties — Hancock, Harrison and Washington — have been approved for individual disaster assistance as a result of damages from Hurricane Gustav which struck the state on Labor Day.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said that Governor Haley Barbour’s request for residents in those counties was granted Friday. They’re eligible for the Individuals and Households program, crisis counseling, transitional sheltering assistance for those displaced and critical needs assistance. The Small Business Administration’s low-interest loan program also will be available.

Residents have 60 days to apply either by phone, 800-621-3362, or via FEMA’s Web site,

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Earlier this week, FEMA declared 20 Mississippi counties eligible for the Public Assistance program, which allows governments to be reimbursed for repair of infrastructure and debris removal and cleanup.

The eligible counties are: Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Forrest, Franklin, George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Pike, Stone, Walthall and Wilkinson.