Picayune’s Acker leads PRCC class

Published 4:33 pm Thursday, February 7, 2008

Sixteen Pearl River Community College football standouts have signed on with senior colleges for the 2008 season.

Eight Wildcats transferred to their respective college at the mid-term break. They include linebacker Brent Acker of Picayune High to Tennessee-Martin, defensive linemen Alex Ford of Presbyterian Christian, Thomas Robinson of Oak Grove, and Aaron Williams of Ridgeland to Louisiana-Monroe; offensive lineman T.J. Harper of Meridian High to East Caroline, defensive back Jamie Hill of Meridian High to Central Arkansas, defensive back Josh Wiley of Hattiesburg High to Louisville, and linebacker Keon Wilson of Miami, Fla., to South Florida.

Eight other Wildcats signed senior college pacts on Wednesday’s National Signing Day. They include defensive back Brandon Burns of Columbiana, Ala., and wide receiver O.J. Murdock of Tampa, Fla., with Marshall; wide receiver Shawn Ector of Hattiesburg High with Belhaven, offensive lineman Nate Jenkins of Forrest County AHS with North Texas, defensive lineman Malcomb Keys of Hattiesburg High with North Alabama, defensive lineman Anthony Shaw of Forrest County AHS with Louisiana-Lafayette, and wide receiver Theo Wilson of Clearwater, Fla., with South Florida.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Running back Bubba Kirksey of Hattiesburg High is headed to Southern Mississippi as a preferred walk on.