Writer’s Group winners announced

Published 4:47 pm Wednesday, August 15, 2007

The Picayune Writers’ Group has received the judge’s score sheets and tallied the winners of the 2007 Writing Contest. There were three prose and three poetry judges, all from writing groups outside of the Picayune area. Each winner will receive a copy of the 2007 Anthology of Local Writes featuring S. G. (Grandpa) Thigpen. The Anthology will be available this fall. Winners will also receive a certificate of merit. As in last year, all entrants will be published in the Anthology with winners designated in the index and front part of the manuscript.

The winners include—

1st place adult poetry, Jessie V. Clarke, for “An Old Couple Dying”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

2nd place adult poetry, Jennie L. Moreva, for “With All My Heart”

3rd place adult poetry, Kathy Clark, for “Morning Walk”

1st place senior poetry, Tie: Bob Patterson for “The Short Haul”

Richard W. Fothe for “When She Opened the Door”

2nd place senior poetry, Martha Banister for “I’ve Been There”

1st place Junior High poetry, Brittany Caltabiana for “Tribute to My Maw-Maw”

1st place adult fiction, Robert F. Van Peski for “T. J., The Baddest Truck Driver in P. R. County”

2nd place adult fiction, Ken Hall Jr. for “The Assignment”

3rd place adult fiction, David Alston for “A Bike of High Character”

1st place adult non-fiction, Lynne Adams Barze’ for “Tonces…’ Tis Better to Give”

2nd place adult non-fiction, Celeste Carter for “Humankind – Essay 2005”

3rd place adult non-fiction, Lane Cook for “Fertile Cresant”

1st place senior fiction, Martha Bannister for “Grandma Maude”

2nd place senior fiction, Wuanita Talley for “The Fairy Tree”

3rd place senior fiction, Richard W. Fothe for “One Dark and Stormy Night in Baltimore”

1st place senior non-fiction, Helger Johnson for “Mr. Buttons”

2nd place senior non-fiction, Paul Nichols for “Why Thermal Protection Anyway?”

3rd place senior non-fiction, Rosaline Hodge for “Ice Cream”

1st and 2nd place college fiction, John C. Baucum for “New York, a Short Story and A Warmer Heart”

1st place for college non-fiction, John C. Baucum for “Gidget’s Path”

1st place Grammar School fiction, Danielle Dixon for “The Mysterious Box”

1st place Grammar School poetry, Danielle Dixon for “Mississippi MCT”

Our thanks to the judges and participants. If you’re interested in joining the writers’ group you can contact Don Wicks at 601-799-1287 or Wuanita Talley at 601-798-9482 or visit us at Bank Plus (next to PJ’s) on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Tuesday of the month at 6-8 pm. All aspiring writers are welcome, even the young ones. You don’t have to be a member to attend meetings.