Time winding down for election run-offs

Published 7:20 pm Thursday, August 16, 2007

The next round of voting takes place on Tuesday, Aug. 28th.

These are the official results of the primary election that took place Aug. 7, including affidavits, absentee and emergency ballots.

Run off candidates for Sheriff in the Democratic party are Dan C. McNeill with 45.81 percent, or 1056 votes, and Rodney Spears with 25.6 percent, or 590 votes. Republican run off candidates for Sheriff are Jim Luke with 40.82 percent, or 3,873 votes and David Allison with 33.88 percent or 3,214 votes.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Supervisor District II Democrat run off candidates are Josey Tynes with 43.32 percent or 159 votes and Kevin Odom with 27.25 percent or 100 votes. Republican run off candidates for District 2 supervisor are Charles Culpepper with 34.05 percent or 808 votes and Daryl Smith with 25.12 percent or 596 votes.

Supervisor District III Republican run off candidates are Hudson Holliday with 35.66 percent or 772 votes and incumbent Larry Davis with 28.04 percent or 607.

Supervisor District IV Democrat runoff candidates are Huey Smith with 46.22 percent or 171 votes and Woopie Kellar with 39.19 percent or 145 votes. Republican candidates for Supervisor District 4 are J. Patrick Lee with 31.16 or 544 votes and incumbent Robert Thigpen with 29.95 percent or 523 votes.

Supervisor District V Republican run off candidates are incumbent Bettye Stockstill with 37.02 percent or 816 votes and Sandy Kane Smith with 31.90 percent or 703 votes.

Coroner runoff Republican candidates are Lisa Roche Sanders with 43.36 percent or 3,752 votes and Derek Turnage with 35.94 percent or 3,110 votes.

The run off election will be Aug. 28, for those previously listed candidates.

Some candidates advanced to the general election, either because they won their primaries outright or because they faced no primary opponents.

Chancery Court Clerk candidates are Democrat Leavern Guy and Republican incumbent David Earl Johnson.

Circuit Clerk candidates are Democrat incumbent Vicki Hariel and Republican Lisa Albritton.

Democratic Coroner candidate is Mitch Stockstill.

County Tax Collector/Assessor candidates are Democrat Pauline Tidwell, and incumbent Republican Gary Beech.

Justice Court Judge, North District candidates are Democrat Patrick Collins and incumbent Republican James Hal Breeland.

Justice Court Judge, South East District Republican candidate is Nell Cowart, now unopposed.

For Justice Court Judge, South West District Republican incumbent John Mark Mitchell is now unopposed.

Constable, North District Republican candidate is Joe Smith. Constable, South East District candidates are Democrat Zeb Miley and incumbent Republican Ray M. Bennett. Constable, South West District is incumbent Democrat Bogie Stockstill.

Supervisor District I Democrat candidate is incumbent Anthony Hales. Republican candidate is Vernon Culpepper.

Supervisor District III Democrat candidate is Lonnie Spiers.

Supervisor District V Democrat candidate is Tim Prince.

District Attorney Republican candidate for District 15 is incumbent Hal Kittrell.

County Attorney Republican candidate is Aaron Russell Jr., now unopposed.

Superintendent of Education for the Pearl River County School District Republican candidate is incumbent Dennis Earl Penton who had no opponent in the primary nor will he the general election.

Pearl River County State Sens. Ezell Lee, a Democrat, and Sid Albritton, a Republican, were unopposed in the primary and are unopposed in the general election. Republican Billy Hudson defeated incumbent Sen. Ed Morgan in the primary.

Pearl River County State Reps. Mark Formby of Picayune for District 108 and Herb Frierson for District 106 were unopposed in the Republican primary and are unopposed in the general election.

Incumbent State Rep. Dirk Dedeaux, a Democrat who was unopposed in the primary, will face Republican John Thomas Cripps, who ran unopposed in his primary.