Some candidates advance to a second primary, others to the general election

Published 4:45 pm Wednesday, August 8, 2007

Dan McNeill and Jim Luke lead their respective party primaries for sheriff in Tuesday’s voting, advancing to a second primary, and four of the three incumbent supervisors also face second primaries.

Incumbent Sheriff Joe Stuart lost in the Republican primary to Luke and David Allison, who will meet in second primary in two weeks,

Only 20 percent of registered votes in the county participated in the election. Runoffs will take place in both Democratic and Republican primaries for Sheriff, Supervisor District 2, and Supervisor District 4 Democrat; and in the Republican primary only for Coroner, Supervisor District 3 and Supervisor District 5.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Run off candidates for Sheriff in the Democratic party are Dan C. McNeill with 45.6 percent and Rodney Spears with 25.6 percent. Republican run off candidates for Sheriff are Luke with 41.11 percent and Allison with 33.93 percent of the votes.

Supervisor district II Democrat run off candidates are Josey Tynes with 42.61 percent and Kevin Odom with 27.56 percent. Republican run off candidates for District 2 supervisor are Charles Culpepper with 34.01 percent and Daryl Smith with 25.01 percent.

Supervisor District III Republican run off candidates are Hudson Holliday with 35.33 percent and incumbent Larry Davis with 28.28 percent.

Supervisor District IV Democrat runoff candidates are Huey Smith with 45.63 percent and Woopie Kellar with 39.62 percent. Republican candidates for Supervisor District 4 are Patrick Lee with 30.62 and incumbent Robert Thigpen with 30.32 percent.

Supervisor District V Republican run off candidates are Bettye Stockstill with 36.58 percent and Sandy Smith with 32.09 percent.

Coroner runoff Republican candidates are Lisa Roche Sanders with 43.23 percent and Derek Turnage with 35.86 percent.

Some candidates advanced to the general election, either because they won their primaries outright or because they faced no primary opponents.

Chancery Court Clerk candidates are Democrat Leavern Guy and Republican incumbent David Earl Johnson.

Circuit Clerk candidates are Democrat incumbent Vicki Hariel and Republican Lisa Albritton.

Democratic Coroner candidate is Mitch Stockstill.

County Tax Collector/Assessor candidates are Democrat Pauline Tidwell, and incumbent Republican Gary Beech.

Justice Court Judge, North District candidates are Democrat Patrick Collins and incumbent Republican James Hal Breeland.

Justice Court Judge, South East District Republican candidate is Nell Cowart, now unopposed.

For Justice Court Judge, South West District Republican incumbent John Mark Mitchell is now unopposed.

Constable, North District Republican candidate is Joe Smith. Constable, South East District candidate is Democrat Zeb Miley and Constable, South West District is incumbent Democrat Bogie Stockstill. All Constables are now running unopposed.

Supervisor District I Democrat candidate is incumbent Anthony Hales. Republican candidate is Vernon Culpepper.

Supervisor District III Democrat candidate is Lonnie Spiers.

Supervisor District V Democrat candidate is Tim Prince.

District Attorney Republican candidate for District 15 is incumbent Hal Kittrell.

County Attorney Republican candidate is Aaron Russell Jr., now unopposed.

Superintendent of Education for the Pearl River County School District Republican candidate is incumbent Dennis Earl Penton who had no opponent in the primary nor will he the general election.

Pearl River County State Sens. Ezell Lee, a Democrat, and Sid Albritton, a Republican, were unopposed in the primary and are unopposed in the general election. Republican Billy Hudson defeated incumbent Sen. Ed Morgan in the primary.

Pearl River County State Reps. Mark Formby of Picayune for District 108 and Herb Frierson for District 106 were unopposed in the Republican primary and are unopposed in the general election.

Incumbent State Rep. Dirk Dedeaux, a Democrat who was unopposed in the primary, will face Republican John Thomas Cripps, who ran unopposed in his primary.