Luke assumes chairmanship of state law enforcement accreditation commission

Published 4:26 pm Wednesday, May 23, 2007

Chief Jim Luke of the Picayune Police Department assumed the chairmanship of the Mississippi Law Enforcement Accreditation Commission on May 16.

At the February 13, quarterly meeting of the Commission, Luke was nominated and unanimously approved by the Commission to be the chairman for the next year. The Commission consists of nine sheriffs, nine chiefs of police, a representative from the Department of Public Safety, a representative from the Municipal Association and a representative from the Supervisors Association.

Luke has 35 years of law enforcement experience. Through his leadership and initiative, the Picayune Police Department will be awarded the Mississippi State Accreditation Certificate at a June 19, ceremony in Picayune.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The department received its National Accreditation in November 2006. Picayune joined the Hattiesburg, Madison and Mississippi State police departments as the four agencies in the state that are nationally accredited.

Other Commission officers are: Lauderdale County Sheriff Billy Sollie, vice-chairman and Indianola Police Chief Ken Winter, Secretary.

The commission is committed to the enhancement of law enforcement through accreditation for the State of Mississippi.