Picayune Noon’s Lion Club inducts new members and officers

Published 12:30 am Tuesday, July 4, 2006

The Picayune Noon’s Lion Club met Wednesday, June 21, at their annual banquet held at Hide-A-Way Lake Lodge to induct its new members.

Entertainment was provided by Linda Rester and Berlon Lee.

District Governor Judy Gavin introduced and inducted the new members, which included Picayune Chief of Police Jim Luke, Brandon Rhodes, and Deputy Chief of Police Jon Milar. Their sponsors were Maude Ritchey and Helen Sanders.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Lion Club also enducted its new officers for the ensuing year. Joe Sleger is the new president, the first vice president is Emile Picarella, second vice president is Brandon Rhodes, Secretary is Mary Jim Weems, Treasurer is Maude Ritchey, Tail-Twister is Carolyn Early, Lion Tamer is Alvin Lee and Chaplain is Aubrey Sanders.

The prestigious Melvin Jones Fellowship Award was presented by Gavin to Jesse Morris and Maude Ritchey.

The Lion of the Year Award went to Alvin Lee.