Primary candidate list

Published 1:05 am Sunday, February 11, 2007

The following is a list of candidates who have qualified for the upcoming primary election to be held August 7, 2007, according to a list at the Circuit Clerks Office.

For County Supervisor District I Anthony Hales (D) has qualified. Qualifying candidates for District II Supervisor are, Charles Culpepper (R), Daryl Smith (R), Kevin Odom (D), Everett Earl Lawrence (R) and William “Bill” Martin (R). Qualifying candidates for District III Supervisor are Kendall McClinton (R), Larry Davis (R), Billy Spence (R), Jesse Dedeaux (D) and Hudson Holliday (R). Qualifying candidates for District IV Supervisor are J. Patrick Lee (R), Steven “Whoopie” Kellar (D), Timmy W. Stockstill (R) and Robert “Bobby” Thigpen (R). Qualifying candidates for District V Supervisor are Bettye Stockstill (R), Sandy Kane Smith (R), David Fred “Quilt-man” Smith (I) and Timothy L. “Tim” Prince (D).

Gary Beech (R) has qualified for tax assessor/collector.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Qualifying candidates for sheriff are Kenny Mitchell (D), David Allison (R), Joe Stuart (R), Jeffery Ulmer (D), Jim Luke (R), Rodney Spears (D) and Dan C. McNeill (D).

The qualifying candidate for Justice Court Judge east is Nell Y Cowart (R). Qualifying candidates for Justice Court Judge north are Don Lee (R), Patrick Collins (D) and James Hal Breland (R).

The qualifying candidate for Chancery Clerk is David Earl Johnson (R).

The qualifying candidate for Pearl River County Superintendent of Education is Dennis Earl Penton (R).

Qualifying candidates for north District constable Robert Smith (R) has qualified. For west district constable Charles “Bogie” Stockstill (D) qualified and for east district constable Ceddy Morris (R) qualified.

There are currently no qualified candidates for circuit clerk, coroner, county prosecuting attorney and Justice Court Judge west.

Other categories where candidates are listed are Fifteenth District Attorney has Hal Kittrell (R) and State Representative has Dirk Dedeaux (D) for district 93, Mark Formby (R) for district 108 and Herb Frierson (R) for district 106 as qualified candidates.

Qualifying candidates for Southern District Transportation Commissioner are Larry Benefield (R), Arlin Reagan (R), Wayne Brown (D) and Chad Toney (D).

Qualifying candidates for Governor are William Bond Compton Jr. (D), Elmer “Louis” L. Fondren (D) and Bill Renick (D).

Qualifying candidates for Lt. Governor are James Jamie R. Franks (D) and Phil Bryant (R).

Qualifying candidates for Attorney General are Jim Hood (D).

Qualifying candidates for State Auditor are Mike Sumrall (D) and Stacey E. Pickerling (R).

Qualifying candidates for Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce are Lester Spell (R).

Qualifying candidates for Southern District Public Service Commissioner are Leonard Bentz (R) and Ray “Two Bits” Crawford (R).

Others offices that will be on the ballot but have no qualifying candidates are Secretary of State, State Treasurer and Commissioner of Insurance. All information was taken from for the democratic party and for the republican party.

The deadline to qualify is March 1, 2007.